Top 10 Reasons Not to Trust a Pitbull

22 Mar

by Angela Bratrud

Let’s admit that we’ve all heard the stories. Pitbulls are dangerous animals who cannot be trusted. Though it is true that many of them are kept as protectors and guards, or used to fight against other dogs because of their due diligence to do what they are taught by their owners, it is somewhat misleading that Pitbulls are viscious and uncontrollable members of society.  Perhaps the most viscious thing about my Pitbull is her gas after a good meal!

As humans, we tend to focus on those things we fear, and often times we believe the stories we hear without having any firsthand experience.  Bad news travels fast, and good news is often forgotten.  There is a good quote for all those seeking knowledge and understanding:

What man does not know man fears and what man fears he destroys.

Perhaps this quote plays a larger role in life than we realize.  As a proud owner of an American Pitbull Terrier, I use to have the same fears I see in the eyes of most people I encounter when out on a walk with my dog. This is one reason I try to use compassion and not ignorance – because I understand that most people act out of fear. When parents are with their children and they see my dog they always find a way to  walk around us, cross the street, hurry as fast as they can to get into their cars, pick up their own dogs and dodge us as if we are flesh eating monsters. People will literally do anything to get out of your way when you have a pitbull.  It’s a good way to clear the roadway or sidewalk and offers the sense of empowerment an ambulance must feel on the streets when rushing to an emergency 911 call.  But it’s also very sad when my dog looks up at me with a look of despair like “ Why are they running away? Did I do something wrong? I was wagging and just wanted to say hello..”  Lucy at the Lake

I will admit that pitbulls can be a challenge as they do have the sure power of a bull in a china shop, and are relentless in their pursuit of loyalty, trust, and pleasing their owners. They are also quite fond of children and love to feel like a kid by exuding a high level of energy and playing with toys. Having experience with a variety of breeds, I have come to love the Pitbull in a special way, more than any dog I’ve ever owned.  It’s not to say that all varieties of dogs are not as worthy, but the Pitbull is a breed so misunderstood,  mishandled and mistook for a monster that it strikes a chord close to my heart.  I want to help this breed by increasing awareness to those with fear and those who share the same love I’m talking about here. We must put a stop to the discrimination and hatred and banning of the breed!  It’s time to take a stand with my Pitbull Terrier and show the world an example of how Amazing these breeds can be, and how people must take action against bad owners and those who lack responsibility, not the animals who have only become victims of man’s ignorance.

Now for the 10 Reasons You Should Never Trust a Pitbull
compiled by Jason Mann

10. They will steal your spot on the couch while you are up getting a soda.
9. They will take the treat you give them and bury in the back yard like a paranoid crack head hiding their stash.
8. They will jump on your bed with muddy feet. Making you do the laundry…again!
7. They will lick visitors with an uncontrolled passion only they understand.
6. They will cause children to smile.
5. They will make you feel horrible for not walking them by looking at you with deep sad eyes.
4. They will look at you like you committed a crime against them if you don’t let them lick your ice cream bowl.
3. They will cause wide spread happiness in large group settings.
2. They will crack you up by shaking their butts so hard you think they are going to snap in half.
And the number one reason why you can’t trust vicious Pit Bulls…
1. They will steal your heart like a thief in the night, showing you complete and pure love that only a Pit Bull can show.

For Further Inspiration, Check out this Amazing Video.

More to come next time….

Including the True Story of How A Pitbull Saved My Life

21 Responses to “Top 10 Reasons Not to Trust a Pitbull”

  1. Kelsey November 3, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I love pitbulls!♥ I own 2 and they are the best dogs ever!(: and I can honestly say that I have been bittin by a boxer before my pitbulls even thought of biting me. Pitbulls are the best breed to have in a family!(:

    • Ariel Lee November 9, 2012 at 1:02 am #

      I totally agree I was bit bye a German shepherd (NOTHING AGAINST THEM THOUG!!!) still love them but pits are the greatest dogs in the WHOLE world!!

  2. anthony beltran March 7, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    as a family we’ve had pitbulls and i have never been bitten once and i think pitbulls are a very great pet to have in a family

    • lovemypitbull March 7, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

      You are right! Pitbulls make excellent family pets and mine has never bitten anyone either. The stereotype does exist though, as any dog with a bad owner is capable to doing damage. People just need to get over it. thanks for supporting the pitties!

      • anthony beltran March 8, 2011 at 1:45 am #

        i think everyone should respect the pitbulls and not think of them as monsters because thier not they can be just as loeable as other dogs.love for pitbulls is strong in are hearts.

    • Ariel Lee November 9, 2012 at 1:02 am #

      totally Agree!!!!

  3. steve March 22, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    My daughter has a Pit Bull and makes these same claims…until a few days ago. Out of nowhere, her dog attacked another leashed dog. Totally unprovoked. This dog NEVER showed aggressive tendencies, and lets a smaller dog they own push him around. This reminds me of the old saying about there being two type of bikers…..those who have gone down, and those who will go down. Love your Pit Bull enough to make sure it doesn’t attack another dog or a person. ALWAYS be on guard.

    • lovemypitbull March 22, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

      Thanks for your comment! Without knowing more details about the situation, it is hard to tell why the dog reacted. If you are a dog owner you will notice 9 times out of 10 a little dog will bark and act aggressively toward a large dog and people do nothing. If the larger dog is the aggressor it always becomes an issue. In dog on dog situations our canine friends communicate non-verbally to each other and owners often times don’t recognize this. All dogs are 99% predictable if you pay attention to their behavior, and they operate on a social hierarchy. Dogs always look at one another with the idea in mind of “who’s the top dog here?” One thing I can say with conviction is that there are NO unprovoked situations. Owners were just not paying close enough attention to the cues. Needless to say it is definitely a good rule of thumb to learn your dog’s behavior mechanisms and Inspire Good Leadership and Training. If you are always ON GUARD then your dog will be ON GUARD. It’s better to be Calm and Assertive, and not otherwise distracted when your dog is interacting with other dogs. Attacking a person is something entirely different and should NOT BE COMPARED to this situation or any other dog on dog issue.

    • Jennifer August 28, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

      This comment is a couple years old. But I felt I should reply for others that come across this comment. My brother-in-law has a sweet lab, Golden retriever cross named Charlie who has never acted aggressively. She’s 4 and a half years old. She recently jumped on my pit and tried to bite her neck unprovoked. My pit is very submissive and will not fight back. Then Charlie reacted the same towards my sisters boxer. Again the boxer is submissive. Does this mean nobody should trust labs or goldens?! NO! ANY dog can have issues. Pitbulls are just a dog and can have the same issues as any other breed.

  4. pitty fan May 3, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    It absolutely infuriates me they way pitbulls are viewed. I’m constantly argueing and defending my pitbull to family and friends. She is the best dog I have ever owned. she is the best thing I could have ever done. I’m a single mom with a 4 year old daughter and I trust my pitbull with every fiber of my being with my daughter. I’ve been told if I loved my daughter I would get rid of my dog. How about I loved my daughter so I got her the best dog in the world. People are ignorant and need to realize every dog is capable of attacking or hurting someone. A study was done on 100 breeds of dogs to see which is most likely to bite…pitbulls were 4th…..from the bottom!!!!!!!!!!

    • lovemypitbull May 3, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

      Kudos to you for taking a stand and sticking up for the breed! Our society is built on fear and people are only responding to their fear. That’s why it’s so important to get out and make an example for the breed with your dog! If you have any idea where I can find that study I’d love to post it on my blog! Let me know thank you! :)

    • bob July 10, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

      they r horrible evil monsters!!!!! why cant u see!

  5. stevy July 15, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    It is a shame, that some dog races are getting such a bad rep, just because of media hypes. There has been one in my area a couple of years ago and now, you are not allowed to ride the bus with a”dangerous dog breeds”. I mean, you can even train a human to be agressive, it’s no wonder you can train a dog to be agressive. It matters how you treat them. I’m not really into pittbulls to be honest, but I feel for all pitbull owners who are suffering from predjudice.

  6. Bethee May 12, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    love this :) I love pit bulls the first time i actually met one I instantly feel in love with them and I’v never come across a “bad” pit bull I love how they think they are tiny lap dogs, my friend has one and she is just the sweetest thing, I def want a pit bull of my own one day :)

  7. nicole nolen June 28, 2012 at 3:28 am #

    I love my PitBull. Its interesting to me that he is considered dangerous. I don’t think so. He takes food right from my mouth, gentle to. He is so sweet. Its a pity that they are so wrongfully judged.

  8. Candace August 2, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Growing up we had numerous family dogs and the only one who never bit or growled at us (we were wild kids, rode those dogs like they were horses) was our pit bull. He just smiled and kept our faces clean. :)

  9. brainz602 February 17, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    that wat i been telling everyone it not the type of dog is how you tret the i love pits they the best

  10. big happy March 16, 2013 at 2:17 am #

    If it ain’t pit it ain’t shit!! Racism is the pit n mi raza!!

  11. michael May 31, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    While I agree that pit bulls a great dogs, until we ban stupid people, pit bulls will get a bad wrap. Every idiot out there thinks they are doing a dog a favor by adopting a pitty, but have know idea how to raise it/ train it seeing as we can’t euthanize stupid people, there needs to be some formal training. Being that a lot of low income people adopt them with the best intention, but work two jobs and raise five kids, they have not the time or money to raise the breed properly. This really applys to all breeds not just pitty’s. so until a formal education/evaluation process is put in place bully breeds of all kinds will always get a bad rap. Thanks to all that have properly trained and cared for there pitty’s.

    • bob July 10, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      well if that’s so, ur calling all smart people idiots

  12. A RANDOM PERSON THAT U DONT KNOW July 10, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    I DISSAGREE WITH ALL OF UR COMMENTS LOOK UP PIT BULL ATTACKS. IM NOT TRYING TO BE RUDE OR ANYTHING BUT JUST TRUST ME. LOOK IT UP. PLEASE JUST DO IT. IF U DISSAGREE IM OK WITH THAT JUST GIVE ME A CHANCE TO HELP.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,872 other followers

